The NERC Reliability Regions

The North American Electric Reliability Corporation divided its territory into eight NERC reliability regions. Each of these regions are overseen by one of eight regional entities who are responsible for improving the reliability of the bulk power system and enforcing compliance as governed by NERC reliability standards. The members of the entities include someone from all segments of the power industry and also includes:

  • Commercial utilities

  • Federal agencies

  • Power producers

  • End-use customers and markets


NERC delegates authority to all of these entities. This includes all owners, generators, distributors and users of the bulk power grid are responsible to remain compliant both NERC and regional reliability standards.


The Regional Entities


The regional entities cover all of the United States, Canada and a portion of Baja California Norte,  Mexico.  The NERC reliability regions and entities are:shutterstock_2530282


  • Florida Reliability Coordinating Council (FRCC)

    • FRCC covers all of Florida and is within the Eastern Interconnection.

  • Midwest Reliability Organization (MRO)

    • MRO covers Saskatchewan and Manitoba in Canada; as well as North Dakota, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Iowa, Nebraska, most of South Dakota and small portions of Illinois and Montana.

  • Northeast Power Coordinating Council (NPCC)

    • NPCC covers the state of New York, the six New England states as well as Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia in Canada.

  • ReliabilityFirst Corporation (RFC)

    • RFC includes New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland, the District of Columbia, West Virginia, Ohio, Indiana, Lower Michigan and portions of Upper Michigan, Wisconsin, Illinois, Kentucky, Tennessee and Virginia.

  • SERC Reliability Corporation (SERC)

    • SERC covers portions of Virginia, Oklahoma, Illinois, Kentucky, Tennessee and Louisiana and the entire areas of Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Mississippi and Alabama.

  • Southwest Power Pool, RE (SPP)

    • The SPP oversees all or part of Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas.

  • Texas Reliability Entity (TRE)

    • The TRE covers the bulk of Texas.

  • Western Electricity Coordinating Council (WECC)

    • WECC is the largest of all regional entities, with its region extending from Canada to Mexico, including Alberta and British Columbia, northern Mexico and the 14 Western states in between


Concerned about your entities compliance?

Contact Versify Solutions today to talk about your NERC reliability regions compliance needs. Portal Compliance, our comprehensive software solution for compliance can help your business with all reliability standards. The program is preloaded with NERC requirements and allows your plant’s team to manually or automatically input data requiring compliance related events. Portal Compliance offers a return on intelligence with:

  • Comprehensive database of NERC standards

  • Automated event capture

  • Real-time event logging

  • Pre-loaded requirements

  • Dashboard reporting

  • Summary report scheduling

Call us today to talk about your compliance needs.